Volume 3, Issue 1 - Summer 2018

Dare to Compete 2018

By Prairie Manufacturer Magazine Staff.

​This year, the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters’ (CME) Dare to Compete conference saw 220 delegates, 27 exhibitors, three keynotes, and 20 presenters. Participants walked away with practical toolkits and thought-provoking content.

​Dr. David Posen, a.k.a. Doc Calm, expert on stress, was a crowd favourite that led us all to think about our working habits as leaders and influencers, while Tannis Osterman from CanSustain took us through the delicate balancing act of production, profit, and global environmental concerns.

​What did attendees have to say?

​“It was truly a valuable day for me both from a learning and networking perspective.”

​“I noted that people stayed until the end, which you don’t often see at a conference. Dr. Posen was awesome.”

​“Keynote speakers the last two years were excellent (Andrew Coyne and John Ibbitson). The panel at lunch was also excellent.”

​Plan to attend Dare to Compete 2019 on March 19 and the CME Gala Dinner on March 21 — both in Winnipeg. Visit www.daretocompete.ca for more information.

2018 CME Gala Awards Dinner

Made-in-Manitoba manufacturing and exporting success: This gala dinner pays tribute to the remarkable individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the manufacturing and exporting industry, both locally and globally. The 2018 award winners included:

​Export Award
Award Recipient: FLOFORM – Ted Sherritt, Chief Executive Officer, accepting

Partner Award
Award Recipient: Red River College – Paul Vogt, President & CEO, accepting

Emerging Award
Award Recipient: Clearline Technologies – Neil Krovats, President, accepting

​Hall of Fame – Pioneer Award
Award Recipient: Charles Balmer, Valmar – Mercedes Caron, Former President of Valmar and Charles’ step daughter, accepting on behalf of the family of Charles Balmer

Hall of Fame – Inductee
Award Recipient: Roy Cook, President & CEO, Monarch Industries, accepting