CME Manitoba’s annual Gala Awards Dinner sets the gold standard

By Jill Knaggs. 

CME Manitoba’s nominations committee faces a unique challenge. Every year, it becomes increasingly difficult to define a clear leader amongst an ever-growing field of standout players in the Manitoba manufacturing community.

“The competition is impressive” says Hugh Eliasson, retired deputy minister of jobs and the economy for the Manitoba government, and member of the nomination committee. “You’d think it would get easier over time, but with the quality of business — the sheer number of visionary leaders and innovators in Manitoba — it just gets harder and harder to select from a growing list of deserving nominees.”

Two local business leaders, however, and three organizations stood out above the competition in 2016, and were recognized at the March 23 Gala Awards Dinner for their outstanding contributions in achieving world-class benchmarks in the manufacturing and exporting sector.

Attracting more than 500 senior industry leaders, policymakers, and community champions, the gala has evolved into a veritable who’s who in Prairie manufacturing, drawing in some of Canada’s most influential chief executives, like Paul Soubry, president and CEO of New Flyer Industries, and top-tier sponsors, such the Toronto Stock Exchange.

2016 Award Recipients

• Bruce Berry, Winpak, Hall of Fame Award

• Peter Barkman, Barkman Concrete, Pioneer Award

• BEHLEN Industries LP, Export Award

• University of Manitoba, Asper School of Business,
    Faculty of Engineering, Partner Award

• Manitobah Mukluks, Emerging Award

Who will be celebrated in 2017? Nominations are now being accepted at Submit yours today!